June 6, 2023


local businesses

ACCA chooses new president Mark Millar

The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants has named Mark Millar, the previous head of a hospice in the United Kingdom, as its new president.

Mark Millar, from Suffolk, England, was appointed as the leader of the international accounting group at the ACCA’s Annual Normal Assembly, which was held entirely on the web for the first time at any time due to the pandemic. He will direct the ACCA’s 227,000 associates and 544,000 potential users in 176 international locations.

“This is a tremendous privilege and I am thrilled to have the honour to serve all my colleagues all all around the planet,” Millar explained in a assertion Friday. “It is humbling that so many gifted and committed pros have put their have faith in in me to provide as their president, and I search ahead to representing them faithfully and very well in the coming calendar year.”

Most not long ago, he was chief govt of St. Elizabeth Hospice in Ipswich, U.K. He has beforehand labored for the U.K.’s Nationwide Health Assistance, exactly where he held a selection of accounting and finance roles. At the age of 18, Millar turned down a university job to sign up for the NHS and examine for the ACCA qualification. He qualified in 1980 and utilized his accounting capabilities at the NHS. He was also non-government director of Papworth Hospital NHS Basis Trust. He was elected to the ACCA’s Council in 2010 and served as ACCA deputy president very last yr. He is succeeding the outgoing president, Jenny Gu.

ACCA president Mark Millar

Courtesy of ACCA

Also at the ACCA assembly, Orla Collins, interim taking care of director of Aberdeen Conventional Investments Eire, from Dublin, was appointed as ACCA deputy president. Joseph Owolabi, CEO of Melbourne-dependent eco-friendly finance business, Rubicola, is now ACCA’s new vice president.

Other outcomes of elections to the ACCA’s global governing Council were declared at the once-a-year typical assembly. Sixteen users ended up newly elected or re-elected. They contain: Paula Kensington, Brendan Sheehan (both equally Australia), Joyce Evans (Canada), Matthew Wong (China), Melanie Proffitt (England), Alice Yip (Hong Kong SAR), Den Surfraz (Mauritius), Ronnie Patton (Northern Eire), Maryam Abisola Adefarati, Babajide Ibironke (both equally Nigeria), Ayla Majid (Pakistan), Oxana Losevkaya (Russia), Liz Blackburn (Scotland), Kevin Fitzgerald (Singapore), Nauman Asif Mian (UAE) and Siobhan Pandya (U.S.).